Search Databases

Database Search

Databases by Title

Databases by Subject

Trial Databases

A-R Online Music Anthology ( Trial )

A-R Online Music Anthology is a collection of scores and articles designed for music history and theory courses. More than 600 pieces of music represent antiquity through the romantic era. Survey articles cover the major western music styles as well as genres, composers, and significant works.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

American Consumer Culture( Trial )

Explore highly visual and captivating trade cards, photographs, catalogues and marketing material, plus insightful market research reports, pilot studies and letters through three major collections for the study of American consumer culture. This multi-title platform provides cross-searchable access to hundreds of thousands of pages of essential American history across the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Presented within a single interface, students and scholars can now maximise their research and teaching and take advantage of the truly interdisciplinary nature of material from three Adam Matthew Digital products for the study for American consumer culture.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East( Trial )

The Middle East in the 1970s was characterised by its conflicts, with a cast of political figures whose influence can still be felt today. Providing an invaluable resource for researchers and students seeking to understand the modern Middle East, this collection contains complete runs of Foreign Office files, providing an expansive view of key events and their global political impact. Users can explore the Arab-Israeli War, Henry Kissinger’s ‘shuttle diplomacy’ and the historic Camp David Accords that followed. The resource also examines internal conflicts, such as the uprising in Dhofar, the military coup in Cyprus, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution. Energy concerns dominate this resource, with reports on the oil policies of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and Iraq, and how price hikes, embargoes and industrial strikes affected the G8’s energy supply and economy. Additionally, users will be able to scrutinise policies on international arms sales. Annual reviews detail internal affairs, external political relationships and offer important economic analysis giving researchers a unique and detailed history of the region across the 1970s. Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 is part of Archives Direct, a cross-searchable multi-product platform, sourced from The National Archives, UK.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

Gender: Identity and Social Change( Trial )

Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

JoVE Cancer Research( Trial )

JoVE publishes experimental techniques in a visual format with detailed text protocols to increase scientific reproducibility and productivity. Cancer Research includes experimental approaches and methods to understand, detect, treat, and prevent cancer.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

JoVE Science Education Chemistry Series( Trial )

JoVE Science Education is a video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations. Chemistry topics covered include Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, General Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry and Organic Chemistry.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

Medical Services and Warfare ( Trial )

From the beginning of the Crimean War to the discovery of penicillin, Medical Services and Warfare gathers material from multiple conflicts to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This collection focuses on the Crimean War, the American Civil War and the First World War among other conflicts. The impact on medicine during peacetime is also charted, notably through documents relating to the influenza epidemic of 1918 and post-war rehabilitation. Powerful search functionality supported by essays, biographies and interactive features enables a comparative approach to the study of medical practice and innovation during wartime, empowering scholars and students to chart the progress of developments across conflicts and nations.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

Race Relations in America ( Trial )

Discover a wealth of primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century. The Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University, was a highly influential think tank offering a forum for discussion and research on racial topics. The work of the Department highlighted topics such as poverty and inequality, class, housing, employment, education and government policy. Its programme attracted many well-known figures in the Civil Rights Movement, including Thurgood Marshall, Martin Luther King Jr., Bayard Rustin, Charles Houston, and Marguerite Cartwright. This resource sheds light on the fascinating work of the Department through the digitisation of extensive records from the Department’s archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.

Trial ends on Dec 31, 2018

Trial Database Feedback

Help with Databases

Most databases are available off-campus to current WVU-Morgantown students, faculty and staff. Licensing restrictions prevent WVU Libraries from providing off-campus access to others. Your affiliation with WVU is verified through use of WVU Login. You will be prompted to enter this when you choose a database from the menu. For assistance with WVU Login, please go to the Information Technology Services (ITS) website at: https://login.wvu.edu/. There you can activate your account or change your password. Alternatively, you may call the ITS Help Desk at (304) 293-4444. If you need assistance with database selection or searching please contact:

Barbara Hengemihle
Evansdale Library
(304) 293-9748

Evansdale Library Reference Desk
(304) 293-4695

Susan Arnold
Health Sciences Library
(304) 293-2105

Health Sciences Library Reference Desk
(304) 293-6810

Penny Pugh
Downtown Campus Library
(304) 293-0334

Downtown Campus Library Reference Desk
(304) 293-3640

Ask a Librarian
Chat/Text/Email Reference Service

If you are having a problem with a database or online resource, please submit an eResource Error Report.