Ask A Librarian

Databases

46 Results

Databases by Title: A


A to Z Maps Online

Royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps, including political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps.

AAPG Data Pages/Archives

Provided by a generous donation from alumni Dan and Pamela (Hall) Billman. A collection of petroleum geology books and papers from 37 geological publishers.

ABI/Inform Complete

Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

AccessEngineering

AccessEngineering is a redesign of the online engineering resource formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. The new-user focused design enhances this online resource of engineering content, and will support all levels of scientific and technical research in the corporate, industrial, government and academic sectors.

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education. It includes several full-text books, case studies, interactive questions and answers, and functional calculators, as well as news relevant to the field of Pharmacy.

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

A science and technology encyclopedia containing articles written by the leading figures in their fields, including 30 Nobel Prize winners, and edited and illustrated with the non-specialist in mind. Find late breaking news, biographies of famous scientists, and much more including thousands of illustrations.

ACLS Humanities E Book

A digital collection of nearly 2,800 full-text high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

ACM Digital Library

The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. It provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and full text articles on computer science and information technology. This includes an archive from the 1950's forward (where available).

ADA Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. The online manual features information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and a link for resources.

ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. The online manual features information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and links to other resources.

ADA Sports Nutrition Care Manual

This new resource contains research-based nutrition information written by authors who are Board Certified as Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs) from the American Dietetic Association. It contains printable client education handouts and meal plans, as well as calculators for BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight.

Advertising Red Books

Extensive directory information about advertising agencies and the companies that advertise with them, including budgets, brands, and personnel information.

AgEcon Search

AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. AgEcon Search will serve as the permanent archive for this literature and encourages authors and organizations to use this electronic library as the storehouse for additional appropriate scholarly electronic works. AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics is a World Wide Web site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. The site has received encouragement and financial support from the American Agricultural Economics Association, the Economic Research Service of the United States Department of Agriculture, and the Farm Foundation as well as the University of Minnesota.

Agricola

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Although AGRICOLA does not contain the materials, thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to online full-text documents, with new links being added every day.

Agricola (Ebscohost)

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials. Together they provide worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. In addition, AGRICOLA contains subfiles of related bibliographic citations that have been prepared by sources other than the National Agricultural Library, for example, the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) and the American Agricultural Economics Documentation Center (AAEDC). These and other information centers and cooperators contribute subfiles to AGRICOLA covering special subjects. Pre-1979 AGRICOLA records are derived from the CAIN format; from 1979 on, MARC-formatted records are used to create the database.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (formerly Ecology Abstracts)

Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Agris

AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. AGRIS is a cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. To date, 240 national, international and intergovernmental centers participate from all over the world.Compiles by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Indexes and abstracts international agricultural literature from over 135 nations.

AIAA

WVU subscribes to selected titles from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) publications list: AIAA Meeting Papers, AIAA Journal, Journal of Aircraft, Journal of Guidance, Control, and Dynamics, and Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets.

Alt HealthWatch (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Full text publications include JMPT: Journal of Manipulative & Physiological Therapeutics, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine, Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter, Vegetarian Times, American Herb Association Quarterly Newsletter, Massage & Bodywork, Macrobiotics Today, Guidepoints: Acupuncture in Recovery and many others. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

AMA Manual of Style Online

The AMA Manual of Style Online (10th ed.)contains information that medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts. This is a collaborative resource between Oxford University Press,JAMA,and the Archives Journals.

America's News

Full-text U.S. newspapers, including 26 from West Virginia. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.

American Factfinder

A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. It includes quick tables and demographic profiles, geographic comparison tables, detailed tables, custom tables, data sets, reference maps, and thematic maps.

American National Biography Online

Biographies of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. More than a decade in preparation, the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.

Ancestry Library Edition

A wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Anthrosource

A collection of journals from the American Anthropological Association.

AP Stylebook Online (25 Concurrent Users)

The AP Stylebook is a must-have reference for writers, editors, students and professionals. It provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style.

Applied Science and Technology Source

Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. The database offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Offers thousands of citations and abstracts from the world's research in aquatic sciences. An international network of information centers monitor serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature for content.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a free database that allows searching across hundreds of institutions' special collections records, including the collections of The West Virginia and Regional History Center.

Art Abstracts

Art Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for 378 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database covers a broad range of art topics such as advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history. Coverage for this database spans from 1984 to the present. Examples of publications indexed in Art Abstracts include: American Art, American Artist, Archaeology, Ceramics Monthly, Creative Review, Entertainment Design, Journal of Popular Film and Television, etc. Covers publications in many languages. Subject areas include art history, interior design, performance art, textiles, photography, graphics, architecture, and folk art.

Artemis Literary Sources

A new integrated search for literature information from Literature Resource Center and Gale Virtual Reference Library. Features include the ability to search for term frequency and term cluster information.

Artemis Primary Sources

Discover primary sources from 7 digital archive collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, the Times Digital Archive and 19th Century British Newspapers. Special tools for analysis include term frequency and term cluster.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the humanities, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

ASM Handbooks Online

ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty-six ASM Handbook volumes, several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals. These include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Baumeister, Byggekunst, Domus, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Environment and Planning A, Metropolitan Museum Journal,and Revue de l'Art.

chat loading...