15 Results

Databases by Title: G


Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Contains than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.

GeoBase

Indexes research on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Geobase covers thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings

GeoRef

Subject access to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities.

GeoScienceWorld

Includes full text of peer-reviewed geoscience journals indexed by the American Geological Institute’s GeoRef. GSW's founding organizations are: American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), American Geological Institute (AGI), Geological Society of America (GSA), Geological Society of London (GSL), Mineralogical Society of America (MSA), Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG).

Global Issues in Context

Perspectives on issues, including global news, primary sources and media.

Great Speeches Video Series

Now included as part of Films on Demand.

GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Grove Art Online

Grove Art Online provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (Grove, 1996, 34 vols.) with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text. Covers both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewelry, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more). Also includes 30,000+ links to color images from and other art sites, and 100,000+ images from the Bridgeman Art Library, as well as biographies of artists of all types (architects, patrons, collectors, dealers theorists, writers, and scholars).

Grove Music Online

An English-language encyclopedia of music and musicians, covering most aspects of art music, folk music, world music and jazz. Coverage of popular music is more selective. Includes biographies of composers and performers, and historical and technical information. Some articles will require a working knowledge of musical terminology. Cross-references and bibliographies. Updated quarterly (January, April, July, October).