Ask A Librarian

Databases

25 Results

Databases by Title: M


MagillOnLiterature

Plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature. The database provides electronic access to the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including nearly 20 Masterplots and Masterplots II titles, the Cyclopedia of World Authors, the Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, as well as 10 years of Magill's Literary Annuals and Magill Book Reviews.

Mango

Mango is a language learning program, teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness for the world’s most popular languages. It’s so fast and easy, you’ll be able to have a real conversation in your new language in just minutes!

MathSciNet

A database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. MathSciNet features citation searching.

MechanicalEngineeringnetBASE

MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE is a collection of over 192 ebooks covering the area of mechanical engineering from CRC Press.

MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE through OVID is a version of the premier, comprehensive biomedical database designed for advanced users. Updated daily, MEDLINE on OvidSP offers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries. Abstracts are included in more than 75% of the records.

MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Access to full-text WVU journal subscriptions is available through the LinkOut icons.

MedlinePlus

Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine.

Merck Index Online

The Royal Society of Chemistry's Merck Index is a source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The advanced search offers a number of ways to discover chemicals using both text and properties. Researchers may also search by structure and named reactions.

Mergent Archives (previously Moody's Manuals from Mergent WebReports)

Moody's manuals, ranging back to the early 1900s, possess a richness of corporate history and business descriptions and in-depth financial statements. The collection is all searchable by company name, year or manual type.

Mergent Intellect

Companies (private and public), industries, and key business ratios.

MergentOnline

Extensive company information, including profiles of 10,500 companies traded on US stock exchanges, 17,000 non-US companies, fifteen years of financial statements, corporate annual reports and comprehensive market reports on over 100 countries. In addition to the as reported financials Mergent Online includes segment results, restated financials, preliminary results and historical ratios.

Met Opera on Demand: Student Access

Met Opera on Demand delivers access to more than 500 Met performances, including more than 70 past performances from the Met’s Live in HD series, as well as more than 350 classic full-length video and audio performances.

Mintel Oxygen

Consumer market research reports that focus on consumer attitudes, trend information, and market data in 14 consumer categories (Food, Drink, Foodservice, Beauty & Personal Care, Health & Wellbeing, Household, Lifestyles, Leisure & Entertainment, Multicultural, Retailing & Apparel, Finance, Technology, Transportation, and Travel).

Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902

Focuses on missionary and charity work undertaken by various faith groups. The publications in this collection include those for both foreign and domestic missions and represent outreach to many different groups that include African-Americans, Native Americans, women, the poor, immigrants, and specific ethnic groups. Subjects include slavery, home missions, hospital work, and social problems.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

MLA International Bibliography

Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications 1895-1976

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government, describing over one million items published between January 1895 and June 1976, the Monthly Catalog helps you identify important and useful information on all subjects.

Moody's Manuals from Mergent WebReports (now Mergent Archives)

Moody's manuals, ranging back to the early 1900s, possess a richness of corporate history and business descriptions and in-depth financial statements. The collection is all searchable by company name, year or manual type.

Music Index Online

Covering all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal subject list which includes both subject and geographic headings.

Music Industry Data

Music Industry Data is a growing repository of historical and current data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, Media Control and many more reporting agencies around the world. This data is presented in Relative Pitch Graphs™ which tell the story of the impact of music on society and cultures.

Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879

The Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879 collection gathers publications dedicated to various aspects of music, from the sacred to the secular, from the political to the comic. Before widespread use of the printing press in the nineteenth century, the popular culture of the United States was largely an oral one, and much of it revolved around music. Often including related content on the arts, literature, and sometimes science, these periodicals show music in a larger cultural context, as music was also an important leisure activity for families and communities. Representative titles include the Family Minstrel, the Musical Journal, Trumpet Notes: A Monthly Paper Devoted to the Interests of Bands and Orchestras, Aeolian Piano Forte Journal, the Musical Miscellany, the Vox Humana, and the New Yorker Musik Zeitung.

chat loading...