Databases by Title: S
Safari Learning Platform provides unlimited access to books, videos, and training from 200+ publishers in computer programming, tech, business, design, and other fields. Safari arms you with the knowledge and skills you need to meet today's challenges and those of the future. Learn through live online courses, complete videos of O'Reilly conferences, case studies, learning paths, interactive tutorials, and more—only on Safari, O'Reilly's comprehensive learning platform. **Users will need to enter their university email and no password on the new platform. They will then confirm their email and be routed to the WVU SSO login.
SafetyLit is a free service of the Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice at San Diego State University, in collaboration with the World Health Organization. It is an injury prevention literature update and archive. This database provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are anthropology, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, sociology, and other fields. The SafetyLit database contains current and backfile article abstracts from 6,285 active scholarly journals, and abstracts from the backfiles of 2,671 additional "inactive" journals. The database contains article abstracts from 3,763 journals that are not included in PubMed/MEDLINE.
Electronic journal collection covering criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence. Some of the journals have content back 23 years.
A collection of authoritative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Part of Web of Science, provides access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.
Made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp. Part of the Web of Science, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals in the world.
Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.
The most comprehensive source for citations to the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. Explores chemical substances by chemical names, structures, formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers and much more.
Access to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Fully searchable record of the Senate's proceedings in executive session from the years 1791-1866. Covers the confirmation of presidential nominees, the ratification of treaties, the careers of military officers, and more. Illuminates key moments in American history as they occurred and influential government decisions as they were made.
Simmons provides data of U.S. adult consumers on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. It can be used to create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior. The database can be accessed by 5 simultaneous users. Users will need to enter their first name, last name, university email, and role on the new platform.
Access to this platform will end on June 30, 2019. Please use the new platform, Simmons Insights.
Requires an up-to-date browser (IE or Firefox) with the Adobe Flash 10 plug-in installed. It provides data of U.S. adult consumers on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. It can be used to create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior. The database can be accessed by 5 simultaneous users.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a streaming audio collection of world music. It currently provides streaming access to over 42,000 tracks from the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added.
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 384,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 315,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.
Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice.
This portion of the SAE Mobilus references thousands of SAE Technical Papers and/or SAE Standards covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Sample coverage includes fuels and lubricants, emissions, electronics, brakes, restraint systems, noise, engines, materials, lighting, and more. Your SAE service includes detailed summaries, complete documents in PDF, plus document storage and maintenance. Full-text access is from 1998 - present for technical papers, and 2007 - 2017 for journal content.
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
ProQuest's Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently. The number of documents is expected to grow as additional organizations choose to make their materials available through OnePetro. OnePetro is a multi-society effort that reflects participation of many organizations. The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) is operating OnePetro on behalf of the participating organizations.
The SPIE Digital Library contains a large collection of optics and photonics research and provides user-friendly tools for researchers to optimize their valuable time. Content covering a broad range of applied optics and photonics science and engineering papers. Technologies span applications from imaging, sensors, biomedicine, manufacturing, and energy to nanotechnology, communications, entertainment, and electronics.
SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic and some full-text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. International database with abstracts on sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, physical activity, and leisure literature. Related databases included in the subscription and covering the same subject area include Heracles (1975-1997) a French language database, Atlantes (1980-1996), a Spanish language database, and Catalogue du Musee Olympique, a catalog of the Olympic Museum in Switzerland.
Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry, including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing. SBRnet is designed to capitalize on the capacity of Internet and its related technology to dramatically enhance the value of information by providing a variety of information sources in one place.
Springer eBooks includes more than 23,000 eBook titles, divided into twelve subject collections: behavioral science; computer science; biomedical and life sciences; engineering; medicine; mathematics and statistics; humanities, social sciences and law; physics and astronomy; business and economics; earth and environmental science; chemistry and materials science; professional and applied computing; and architecture and design.
SpringerLink provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
SpringerMaterials – The Landolt-Börnstein Database is a systematic database of selected and critically assessed data in the physical sciences. It provides access to more than 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties and more than 1,2 million literature references. Search for substances or element systems, properties, molecular formulas or CAS registry numbers.
Media rates and information, including detailed consumer and demographic information, ad rates, and contact information.
The Stalin Digital Archive contains a selection of documents, which cover Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. The web-based archive of archival and secondary research presents documents that have previously only been available at the RGASPI archive in Russia. Digital versions of Yale’s Annals of Communism series supplement the RGASPI collection with additional scholarly commentary on selected documents concerning the history of Soviet and international communism from Russian state archives spanning the 75-year history of the USSR.
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform - categorized into 21 market sectors, providing direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets
Proquest Statistical Abstract continues the series previously published by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Swank provides semester-long access to select Hollywood and independent movie studio films.
This collection includes content in the subject areas of computer and information science, from artificial intelligence to visualization. This includes “hard” computer science fields such as computer architecture, networking, computer vision, and data management, as well as information science topics including human language technology, human computer interaction, and information retrieval