Ask A Librarian

Databases

21 Results

Geosciences Databases:

Subject Guide

Start Here:

GeoBase

Indexes research on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Geobase covers thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings

GeoRef

Subject access to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities.

AAPG Data Pages/Archives

Provided by a generous donation from alumni Dan and Pamela (Hall) Billman. A collection of petroleum geology books and papers from 37 geological publishers.

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

A science and technology encyclopedia containing articles written by the leading figures in their fields, including 30 Nobel Prize winners, and edited and illustrated with the non-specialist in mind. Find late breaking news, biographies of famous scientists, and much more including thousands of illustrations.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science

Indexes literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. Part of the Web of Science.

Engineering Village--EiCompendex, Inspec, and GeoBase

Engineering Village provides an easy to use, integrated interface for finding the engineering information you need. Engineering Village includes 5 independently searchable databases with journal citations, indexed and evaluated web-sites, up to date patent information, and technical engineering information including product information.

GeoBase

Indexes research on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Geobase covers thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings

GeoRef

Subject access to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities.

GeoScienceWorld

Includes full text of peer-reviewed geoscience journals indexed by the American Geological Institute’s GeoRef. GSW's founding organizations are: American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), American Geological Institute (AGI), Geological Society of America (GSA), Geological Society of London (GSL), Mineralogical Society of America (MSA), Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG).

Oceanic Abstracts

Indexing focused on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, with emphasis on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

Science Citation Index Expanded

Made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp. Part of the Web of Science, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals in the world.

ScienceDirect

Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.

SciFinder Scholar

The most comprehensive source for citations to the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. Explores chemical substances by chemical names, structures, formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers and much more.

SpringerMaterials

SpringerMaterials – The Landolt-Börnstein Database is a systematic database of selected and critically assessed data in the physical sciences. It provides access to more than 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties and more than 1,2 million literature references. Search for substances or element systems, properties, molecular formulas or CAS registry numbers.

chat loading...