40 Results

English Literature & Language Databases:

Subject Guide

Start Here:

Literature Resource Center

Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

MLA International Bibliography

Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable in Gale Digital Collection.

19th Century Masterfile

An index to nineteenth century periodicals, newspapers and government documents, including British Parliamentary debates. Nearly every periodical of the Nineteenth Century is covered. Full-text links are available for some articles.

ACLS Humanities E Book

A digital collection of nearly 2,800 full-text high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

Artemis Literary Sources

A new integrated search for literature information from Literature Resource Center and Gale Virtual Reference Library. Features include the ability to search for term frequency and term cluster information.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the humanities, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals.

Great Speeches Video Series

Now included as part of Films on Demand.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Literary Research Guide - 6th Edition

An annotated guide to reference sources for the study of literature in English.

Literature Resource Center

Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

MagillOnLiterature

Plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature. The database provides electronic access to the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including nearly 20 Masterplots and Masterplots II titles, the Cyclopedia of World Authors, the Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, as well as 10 years of Magill's Literary Annuals and Magill Book Reviews.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

MLA International Bibliography

Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Twelve collections of primary source material covering various aspects of the long nineteenth century. Coverage for literature, science & technology, women, commerce, travel and more.

Overdrive

Enjoy popular eBooks & audiobooks on your computer, phone, tablet, or iPod.

Oxford English Dictionary

OED -a comprehensive, unabridged dictionary that records the history and development of the English Language. The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains two separate texts, the complete Second Edition and the New Edition in progress.

Theatre in Video

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This first release contains over 50 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.