Ask A Librarian

Databases

23 Results

Music Databases:

Subject Guide

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the humanities, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is an online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

ERIC (EbscoHost)

ERIC is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Comprehensive coverage of the journal and report literature in the field of education. Composed of indexing and abstracts for articles and reports.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Contains than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.

Grove Music Online

An English-language encyclopedia of music and musicians, covering most aspects of art music, folk music, world music and jazz. Coverage of popular music is more selective. Includes biographies of composers and performers, and historical and technical information. Some articles will require a working knowledge of musical terminology. Cross-references and bibliographies. Updated quarterly (January, April, July, October).

IPA Source

IPA Source is a large library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Includes over 4639 texts including 757 aria texts!

Met Opera on Demand: Student Access

Met Opera on Demand delivers access to more than 500 Met performances, including more than 70 past performances from the Met’s Live in HD series, as well as more than 350 classic full-length video and audio performances.

Music Index Online

Covering all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal subject list which includes both subject and geographic headings.

Music Industry Data

Music Industry Data is a growing repository of historical and current data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, Media Control and many more reporting agencies around the world. This data is presented in Relative Pitch Graphs™ which tell the story of the impact of music on society and cultures.

Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879

The Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879 collection gathers publications dedicated to various aspects of music, from the sacred to the secular, from the political to the comic. Before widespread use of the printing press in the nineteenth century, the popular culture of the United States was largely an oral one, and much of it revolved around music. Often including related content on the arts, literature, and sometimes science, these periodicals show music in a larger cultural context, as music was also an important leisure activity for families and communities. Representative titles include the Family Minstrel, the Musical Journal, Trumpet Notes: A Monthly Paper Devoted to the Interests of Bands and Orchestras, Aeolian Piano Forte Journal, the Musical Miscellany, the Vox Humana, and the New Yorker Musik Zeitung.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive online collection of music offering over 500,000 tracks of Classical, World, Folk and Chinese music.

Naxos Video Library

Naxos brings you a streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand!

Opera in Video

Opera in Video is a collection of operatic performances covering the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. The collection contains 500 hours of video comprising 288 operatic works.

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a streaming audio collection of world music. It currently provides streaming access to over 42,000 tracks from the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added.

chat loading...