25 Results

Nutrition Databases:

Subject Guide

Start Here:

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 550 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, of which nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing.

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is a database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. The database includes material from over 4,600 serial publications, covering all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Coverage spans from 1969 - present. The database includes more than 900,000 records, with more than 40,000 records added annually.

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of NLM's broad user community are also included. A growing number of MEDLINE citations contain a link to the free full text of the article archived in PubMed CentralĀ® or to other sites. WVU LinkOut icons will be seen on PubMed citations that WVU has either electronically (full-text) or in print.

ADA Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. The online manual features information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and a link for resources.

ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. The online manual features information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and links to other resources.

ADA Sports Nutrition Care Manual

This new resource contains research-based nutrition information written by authors who are Board Certified as Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs) from the American Dietetic Association. It contains printable client education handouts and meal plans, as well as calculators for BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight.

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 550 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, of which nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing.

Clinical Key

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. The database contains over 1,100 medical reference books and over 600 e-journals, in addition to drug monographs, guidelines, and patient education materials.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decision-making in health care and to inform those who are receiving care.

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is a database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. The database includes material from over 4,600 serial publications, covering all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Coverage spans from 1969 - present. The database includes more than 900,000 records, with more than 40,000 records added annually.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. The database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Knovel

Knovel is a database which includes some of the leading science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Knovel provides aggregated engineering and applied science data that can be accessed globally utilizing proprietary tabular analysis tools. The combination of aggregated information, proprietary analysis tools, and technology empowers librarians, engineers, and researchers to attain information across multiple sources and information formats, bringing unprecedented reach and capabilities to research needs.

MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Access to full-text WVU journal subscriptions is available through the LinkOut icons.

MedlinePlus

Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine.

Natural Medicines

This database was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of NLM's broad user community are also included. A growing number of MEDLINE citations contain a link to the free full text of the article archived in PubMed CentralĀ® or to other sites. WVU LinkOut icons will be seen on PubMed citations that WVU has either electronically (full-text) or in print.

Science Citation Index Expanded

Made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp. Part of the Web of Science, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals in the world.

ScienceDirect

Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.