Ask A Librarian

Databases

30 Results

Pharmacy Databases:

Start Here:

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education. It includes several full-text books, case studies, interactive questions and answers, and functional calculators, as well as news relevant to the field of Pharmacy.

Clinical Pharmacology (Restricted Access to HSC Only. Off Campus only through SOLE.)

Clinical Pharmacology is an electronic drug information and medication management resource. This database provides up-to-date, peer-reviewed, clinically-relevant information on all U.S. prescription drugs, as well as off-label uses and dosage, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs. The database is accessible from both the HSL's website and SOLE.

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education. It includes several full-text books, case studies, interactive questions and answers, and functional calculators, as well as news relevant to the field of Pharmacy.

ADA Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. The online manual features information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and a link for resources.

Biopolymers Online

Biopolymers Online provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science. Covers the whole field of biopolymers from an application-oriented and biotechnological point of view and is comprised of approximately 180 articles with over 1500 figures and 600 tables Lists approximately 500 biopolymers and more than 3000 organisms related to the production of biopolymers. Also includes extensive patent information.

Clinical Key

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. The database contains over 1,100 medical reference books and over 600 e-journals, in addition to drug monographs, guidelines, and patient education materials.

Clinical Pharmacology (Restricted Access to HSC Only. Off Campus only through SOLE.)

Clinical Pharmacology is an electronic drug information and medication management resource. This database provides up-to-date, peer-reviewed, clinically-relevant information on all U.S. prescription drugs, as well as off-label uses and dosage, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs. The database is accessible from both the HSL's website and SOLE.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decision-making in health care and to inform those who are receiving care.

Consumer Health Complete (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information. The database provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

DGRWeb

A listing of graduate programs, faculty, and research across the chemical sciences and engineering in the United States and Canada. From the American Chemical Society.

ExamMaster

Users must register through the gateway URL from on campus to access the site. Exam Master is an online test prep resource for the Health Sciences. It covers USMLE, Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, Surgery, Pediatrics, OB/GYN, SPEX, Emergency Medicine, Pharmacy (NAPLEX), Dentistry, Physician Assistant (PANCE), and Family Nurse Practitioner. There are extensive question banks for each discipline that allow the user to take realistic practice exams.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. The database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals that cover the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information. Topics covered include information on biopharmaceutics & pharmacokinetics, new drug delivery systems, pharmacist liability, legal, political & ethical issues, and many others. Examples of titles covered in IPA include: America's Pharmacist (USA), American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy (USA), British Medical Journal (England), Clinical Drug Investigation (New Zealand), Clinical Pharmacokinetics (New Zealand), International Journal of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (Germany), International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding (USA), and International Journal of Pharmaceutics (Netherlands). A unique feature of abstracts included for clinical studies is the inclusion of the study design, number of patients, dosage, dosage forms, and dosage schedule.

MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE through OVID is a version of the premier, comprehensive biomedical database designed for advanced users. Updated daily, MEDLINE on OvidSP offers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries. Abstracts are included in more than 75% of the records.

MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Access to full-text WVU journal subscriptions is available through the LinkOut icons.

Merck Index Online

The Royal Society of Chemistry's Merck Index is a source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The advanced search offers a number of ways to discover chemicals using both text and properties. Researchers may also search by structure and named reactions.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

Natural Medicines

This database was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of NLM's broad user community are also included. A growing number of MEDLINE citations contain a link to the free full text of the article archived in PubMed CentralĀ® or to other sites. WVU LinkOut icons will be seen on PubMed citations that WVU has either electronically (full-text) or in print.

SciFinder Scholar

The most comprehensive source for citations to the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. Explores chemical substances by chemical names, structures, formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers and much more.

SpringerMaterials

SpringerMaterials – The Landolt-Börnstein Database is a systematic database of selected and critically assessed data in the physical sciences. It provides access to more than 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties and more than 1,2 million literature references. Search for substances or element systems, properties, molecular formulas or CAS registry numbers.

TOXNET

TOXNET is a free search service from the National Library of Medicine that includes a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. It consists of 18 databases that can be searched individually or as a group. The databases include: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS),International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), Genetic Toxicology (GENE-TOX), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Info System (CCRIS), TOXLINE (Toxicology Bibliographic Info), Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology (DART-ETIC), Toxics Release Inventory (TRI), and ChemIDplus. In addition, the TOXNET "Search All Databases" function now includes results from the Household Products Database (http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov), Haz-Map (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov) and TOXMAP (http://toxmap.nlm.nih.gov)

UpToDate (Restricted to HSC campus only. No remote access)

UpToDate is a point-of-care tool that synthesizes knowledge for clinicians and patients. The resource covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database.

VisualDX

VisualDX is an online clinical diagnostic support tool that features nearly 30,000 medical images and specialist-level knowledge to help diagnose, treat, and manage 1,300 diseases, drug reactions, and infections.

chat loading...