13 Results

Sport Sciences and Physical Education Databases:

Subject Guide

Start Here:

Sport Discus Full Text

SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic and some full-text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. International database with abstracts on sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, physical activity, and leisure literature. Related databases included in the subscription and covering the same subject area include Heracles (1975-1997) a French language database, Atlantes (1980-1996), a Spanish language database, and Catalogue du Musee Olympique, a catalog of the Olympic Museum in Switzerland.

ADA Sports Nutrition Care Manual

This new resource contains research-based nutrition information written by authors who are Board Certified as Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs) from the American Dietetic Association. It contains printable client education handouts and meal plans, as well as calculators for BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight. Provides for two simultaneous users.

ERIC (EbscoHost)

ERIC is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Comprehensive coverage of the journal and report literature in the field of education. Composed of indexing and abstracts for articles and reports.

MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

Physical Education Index

Physical Education Index provides scholarly and trade literature from 1970 to the present for physical education. CSA Physical Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered

Sport Discus Full Text

SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic and some full-text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. International database with abstracts on sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, physical activity, and leisure literature. Related databases included in the subscription and covering the same subject area include Heracles (1975-1997) a French language database, Atlantes (1980-1996), a Spanish language database, and Catalogue du Musee Olympique, a catalog of the Olympic Museum in Switzerland.

Sports Business Research Network

Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry, including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing. SBRnet is designed to capitalize on the capacity of Internet and its related technology to dramatically enhance the value of information by providing a variety of information sources in one place.