Ask A Librarian

Databases

36 Results

Journalism Databases:

Start Here:

AP Stylebook Online (25 Concurrent Users)

The AP Stylebook is a must-have reference for writers, editors, students and professionals. It provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable in Gale Digital Collection.

Advertising Red Books

Extensive directory information about advertising agencies and the companies that advertise with them, including budgets, brands, and personnel information.

America's News

Full-text U.S. newspapers, including 26 from West Virginia. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.

AP Stylebook Online (25 Concurrent Users)

The AP Stylebook is a must-have reference for writers, editors, students and professionals. It provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style.

CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship)

Research databases from CIOS support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc.)

ComAbstracts

A comprehensive database of article and book abstracts from the scholarly literature of the communication field.

ComAnalytics

A system for the comparative assessment of article publication productivity for individual scholars and for academic departments.

ComUpdate

Quickly and efficiently scan and review new communication studies research articles in your area of interest.

ComVista

An interactive directory of scholars and degree programs in communication and the best guide to leading graduate programs.

Facts on File World News Digest

A concise, comprehensive record of world events since 1940. Search by date or by topic to quickly access stories on significant current or historical events.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals.

Global Issues in Context

Perspectives on issues, including global news, primary sources and media.

International Encyclopedia of Communication

Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas

New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)

Full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the beginning of the paper in the 19th century.

Newspaper Source (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Includes the Morgantown Dominion Post plus cover-to-cover full text for 28 national(US)and international newspapers and selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

Regional Business News (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

Simmons OneView

Requires an up-to-date browser (IE or Firefox) with the Adobe Flash 10 plug-in installed. It provides data of U.S. adult consumers on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. It can be used to create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior. The database can be accessed by 5 simultaneous users.

West Virginia Newspapers from Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington). Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

chat loading...