Book Reviews Databases:
The Libraries' subscription to Book Review Digest Plus ended on July 1, 2017. Book reviews can be found on Project Muse, JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, Magill, and MLA International Bibliography.
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. The database includes children's books as well as books for adults and young adults.
Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.
Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history. Subject coverage is from 1450 to the present and includes Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and Middle East. See America: History and Life for coverage of North America (U.S. and Canada).
JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. The entire archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature. The database provides electronic access to the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including nearly 20 Masterplots and Masterplots II titles, the Cyclopedia of World Authors, the Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, as well as 10 years of Magill's Literary Annuals and Magill Book Reviews.
The Libraries' subscription to this resource ended on July 31, 2017. Please contact a librarian if you need assistance with your research.
Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books.