7 Results

Biography Databases:

American National Biography Online

The Libraries' subscription to this resource ended July 1, 2017. Please contact a librarian if you need help with your research.

Biographies of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. More than a decade in preparation, the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

The Libraries' subscription to this resource ended on June 30, 2017. Please contact a librarian if you need assistance with your research.

An index to printed reference sources that contain biographical information. Biography and Genealogy Master Index covers individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Sources indexed in BGMI are of several types: biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals.; subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries; volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works; Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere.The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.

CREDO Reference

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.

Literature Resource Center

Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online

Provides 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. Includes extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combined with rigorous research and scholarship. Three users may access this at one time.