13 Results

Video & Sound Databases:

Start Here:

Films on Demand

Will discontinue on August 31, 2017. Use Kanopy Streaming Video or search for DVDs in our library collection, or consult Ask-a-Librarian for personal help.

Streaming video collection offering curriculum-focused content and providing instant access to thousands of full-length videos and video clips.

Dance in Video

Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.

Engineering Case Studies Online

Engineering Case Studies Online offers hundreds of hours of video and thousands of pages of text resources to meet the growing needs of engineering programs worldwide. The collection provides in-depth coverage for engineering case studies and failures, from the Titanic to the Challenger space shuttle explosion, to help students and scholars understand each case's valuable takeaways.

Films on Demand

Will discontinue on August 31, 2017. Use Kanopy Streaming Video or search for DVDs in our library collection, or consult Ask-a-Librarian for personal help.

Streaming video collection offering curriculum-focused content and providing instant access to thousands of full-length videos and video clips.

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy Streaming Video provides access to more than 8,500 videos from major educational film distributors and covers diverse subject areas including early film, humanities, arts, media, and business.

Met Opera on Demand: Student Access

Met Opera on Demand delivers access to more than 500 Met performances, including more than 70 past performances from the Met’s Live in HD series, as well as more than 350 classic full-length video and audio performances.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive online collection of music offering over 500,000 tracks of Classical, World, Folk and Chinese music.

Naxos Video Library

WVU’s Naxos Video Library subscription will end Oct. 31, 2017. Many of these performances are also issued on DVD. If a particular performance is needed for a course assignment, please contact Beth Royall (beth.royall@mail.wvu.edu) or Beth Toren (Beth.Toren@mail.wvu.edu) regarding possible purchase of the DVD.

Naxos brings you a streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand!

Opera in Video

Opera in Video is a collection of operatic performances covering the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. The collection contains 500 hours of video comprising 288 operatic works.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a streaming audio collection of world music. It currently provides streaming access to over 42,000 tracks from the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added.

Theatre in Video

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This first release contains over 50 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Veterinary Education in Video

Veterinary Education in Video gives faculty and students anytime, anywhere access to an encyclopedic resource on veterinary science and care. The collection explains more than 500 procedures and techniques across more than 600 titles, and covers clinical skills, explanations of conditions, and training on technology and animal handling. Because it’s delivered in high-quality streaming video, the collection provides insight into animal reactions and other subtleties that are often lost in text-only approaches.