25 Results

Agriculture and Agricultural Economics Databases:

Start Here:

Agricola (Ebscohost)

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials. Together they provide worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. In addition, AGRICOLA contains subfiles of related bibliographic citations that have been prepared by sources other than the National Agricultural Library, for example, the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) and the American Agricultural Economics Documentation Center (AAEDC). These and other information centers and cooperators contribute subfiles to AGRICOLA covering special subjects. Pre-1979 AGRICOLA records are derived from the CAIN format; from 1979 on, MARC-formatted records are used to create the database.

CAB Abstracts

CAB Abstracts is a database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences. The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals, books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally. CAB abstracts covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more.CABCD is the largest professionally-produced database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences. The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals, books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally.

AgEcon Search

AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. AgEcon Search will serve as the permanent archive for this literature and encourages authors and organizations to use this electronic library as the storehouse for additional appropriate scholarly electronic works. AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics is a World Wide Web site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. The site has received encouragement and financial support from the American Agricultural Economics Association, the Economic Research Service of the United States Department of Agriculture, and the Farm Foundation as well as the University of Minnesota.

Agricola

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Although AGRICOLA does not contain the materials, thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to online full-text documents, with new links being added every day.

Agricola (Ebscohost)

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials. Together they provide worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. In addition, AGRICOLA contains subfiles of related bibliographic citations that have been prepared by sources other than the National Agricultural Library, for example, the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) and the American Agricultural Economics Documentation Center (AAEDC). These and other information centers and cooperators contribute subfiles to AGRICOLA covering special subjects. Pre-1979 AGRICOLA records are derived from the CAIN format; from 1979 on, MARC-formatted records are used to create the database.

Agris

AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. AGRIS is a cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. To date, 240 national, international and intergovernmental centers participate from all over the world.Compiles by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Indexes and abstracts international agricultural literature from over 135 nations.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Offers thousands of citations and abstracts from the world's research in aquatic sciences. An international network of information centers monitor serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature for content.

Biological Abstracts - See Biosis Previews

Find high-impact articles from peer-reviewed, influential journals in the biosciences.

BioOne

The full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Focus is on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

BioOne Abstracts and Index

A more sophisticated search engine for articles in BioOne, an aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

BIOSIS Previews

Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more in high-impact articles from peer-reviewed, influential journals.

CAB Abstracts

CAB Abstracts is a database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences. The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals, books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally. CAB abstracts covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more.CABCD is the largest professionally-produced database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences. The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals, books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science

Indexes literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. Part of the Web of Science.

Entomology Abstracts

Indexes bibliographic information and abstracts for research reports coverning insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods.

FAO Forestry Databases

The FAO Forestry Department maintains an array of online databases where information covering various aspects of forestry is stored for analysis and further dissemination.

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is a database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. The database includes material from over 4,600 serial publications, covering all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Coverage spans from 1969 - present. The database includes more than 900,000 records, with more than 40,000 records added annually.

GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

JSTOR Global Plants

Contains plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. It supports research and teaching, including measuring and recording plant specimens, sharing observations and objects with colleagues and classmates, and investigating global plant biodiversity. Of interest to those studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.

Knovel

Knovel is a database which includes some of the leading science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Knovel provides aggregated engineering and applied science data that can be accessed globally utilizing proprietary tabular analysis tools. The combination of aggregated information, proprietary analysis tools, and technology empowers librarians, engineers, and researchers to attain information across multiple sources and information formats, bringing unprecedented reach and capabilities to research needs.

Science Citation Index Expanded

Made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp. Part of the Web of Science, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals in the world.

ScienceDirect

Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.