Ask A Librarian

Databases

58 Results

General & Reference Databases:

Start Here:

CREDO Reference

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.

A to Z Maps Online

Royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps, including political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps.

AMA Manual of Style Online

The AMA Manual of Style Online (10th ed.)contains information that medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts. This is a collaborative resource between Oxford University Press,JAMA,and the Archives Journals.

American Factfinder

A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. It includes quick tables and demographic profiles, geographic comparison tables, detailed tables, custom tables, data sets, reference maps, and thematic maps.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a free database that allows searching across hundreds of institutions' special collections records, including the collections of The West Virginia and Regional History Center.

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities

Journal information for business (accounting, marketing, economics & finance, management),education, psychology, nursing, health administration, computer science & business information systems.

Chicago manual of style online

Online version of the 15th and 16th editions of The Chicago Manual of Style.

Choice Reviews Online

Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

College Source

A library of 27,344 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools. College Source Online is searchable by major, tuition, geographic location, enrollment, and affiliation. It includes a profile of every accredited college in the U.S., along with links to home pages, career information and financial aid information.

CREDO Reference

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.

Datapedia of the United States

A factbook containing data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments in United States history, from 1790 to 2003.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Complete subscription version includes atlas, dictionary, audio & video clips, images, and links to reviewed web sites.

Encyclopedia of Associations (Gale Directory Library)

Detailed information for nonprofit membership organizations such as professional societies, labor unions, cultural groups, and trade associations.

EndNote Basic

Use EndNote Web to create a personal database of references to articles, books and other research sources - create an account to begin. You must be on campus to create an account.

Facts on File World News Digest

A concise, comprehensive record of world events since 1940. Search by date or by topic to quickly access stories on significant current or historical events.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.

Grove Art Online

Grove Art Online provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (Grove, 1996, 34 vols.) with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text. Covers both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewelry, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more). Also includes 30,000+ links to color images from and other art sites, and 100,000+ images from the Bridgeman Art Library, as well as biographies of artists of all types (architects, patrons, collectors, dealers theorists, writers, and scholars).

Grove Music Online

An English-language encyclopedia of music and musicians, covering most aspects of art music, folk music, world music and jazz. Coverage of popular music is more selective. Includes biographies of composers and performers, and historical and technical information. Some articles will require a working knowledge of musical terminology. Cross-references and bibliographies. Updated quarterly (January, April, July, October).

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Learning Express Library

Available on WV InfoDepot - Test preparation (GRE, GMAT, MCAT) career planning & job search, skills training for software packages and more.

MergentOnline

Extensive company information, including profiles of 10,500 companies traded on US stock exchanges, 17,000 non-US companies, fifteen years of financial statements, corporate annual reports and comprehensive market reports on over 100 countries. In addition to the as reported financials Mergent Online includes segment results, restated financials, preliminary results and historical ratios.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications 1895-1976

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government, describing over one million items published between January 1895 and June 1976, the Monthly Catalog helps you identify important and useful information on all subjects.

National Faculty Directory (Gale Directory Library)

Find faculty by name, institution, or discipline, with contact information.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is the innovative new gateway for searching Grove Art Online and other art resources from Oxford.

Oxford English Dictionary

OED -a comprehensive, unabridged dictionary that records the history and development of the English Language. The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains two separate texts, the complete Second Edition and the New Edition in progress.

Political Handbook of the World

Information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system, including: heads of government, heads of state, ambassadors, historical trends, regime changes, constitutional history, and regional and global policy issues of concern.

ProceedingsFirst

An index of conference publications.

Proquest Statistical Insight

Access to statistical information produced by US Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. LNSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents and tables, down-loadable spreadsheets containing table data.

Reference USA

Find detailed information on 14 million US businesses, 100 million households, and nearly 1 million physicians and dentists. Searchable by name, line of business, geographic location, sales, and other parameters.

RefWorks (Legacy)

Format bibliographies and notes as you write papers; RefWorks allows you to create a personal database of sources that you can access from anywhere. Researchers can import references from electronic sources, save their work, organize research, and share research with colleagues using RefShare.

RefWorks (New)

A cloud-based citation manager to help organize your research. Create a personal database, share material with colleagues, or use Proquest for Word to and format articles in preferred publication styles. To start create an account using your WVU email.

Serials Directory

Directory of 150,000 periodicals with publisher information.

Statistical Abstract

Proquest Statistical Abstract continues the series previously published by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Test preparation, practice tests, graduate school search, career resources, resume writing, and more - this resource will help you prepare for the next step in your education or career.

Ulrichsweb

Provides detailed information on periodicals published throughout the world, covering all subjects and including publications that are published regularly or irregularly.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)

Search 20,000+ library catalogs for books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

Worldcat.org

Find books located in libraries around the world and use links to WVU Library content and services for easy access.

chat loading...