Ask A Librarian

Databases

84 Results

Health Sciences Databases:

Start Here:

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of NLM's broad user community are also included. A growing number of MEDLINE citations contain a link to the free full text of the article archived in PubMed Central® or to other sites. WVU LinkOut icons will be seen on PubMed citations that WVU has either electronically (full-text) or in print.

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 550 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, of which nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decision-making in health care and to inform those who are receiving care.

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education. It includes several full-text books, case studies, interactive questions and answers, and functional calculators, as well as news relevant to the field of Pharmacy.

ADA Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. The online manual features information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and a link for resources.

ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. The online manual features information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and links to other resources.

Alt HealthWatch (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Full text publications include JMPT: Journal of Manipulative & Physiological Therapeutics, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine, Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter, Vegetarian Times, American Herb Association Quarterly Newsletter, Massage & Bodywork, Macrobiotics Today, Guidepoints: Acupuncture in Recovery and many others. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

AMA Manual of Style Online

The AMA Manual of Style Online (10th ed.)contains information that medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts. This is a collaborative resource between Oxford University Press,JAMA,and the Archives Journals.

Biological Abstracts - See Biosis Previews

Find high-impact articles from peer-reviewed, influential journals in the biosciences.

Biopolymers Online

Biopolymers Online provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science. Covers the whole field of biopolymers from an application-oriented and biotechnological point of view and is comprised of approximately 180 articles with over 1500 figures and 600 tables Lists approximately 500 biopolymers and more than 3000 organisms related to the production of biopolymers. Also includes extensive patent information.

BIOSIS Previews

Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more in high-impact articles from peer-reviewed, influential journals.

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities

Journal information for business (accounting, marketing, economics & finance, management),education, psychology, nursing, health administration, computer science & business information systems.

ChemIDplus

Provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. Includes structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet. Searchable by name, synonym, CAS Registry Number, molecular formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and structure.

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 550 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, of which nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing.

Clinical Key

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. The database contains over 1,100 medical reference books and over 600 e-journals, in addition to drug monographs, guidelines, and patient education materials.

Clinical Ophthalmic eBooks Collection

Complete eBook Collection from the American Academy of Ophthalmology, including the Basic and Clinical Science Course and Focal Points.

Clinical Pharmacology (Restricted Access to HSC Only. Off Campus only through SOLE.)

Clinical Pharmacology is an electronic drug information and medication management resource. This database provides up-to-date, peer-reviewed, clinically-relevant information on all U.S. prescription drugs, as well as off-label uses and dosage, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs. The database is accessible from both the HSL's website and SOLE.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decision-making in health care and to inform those who are receiving care.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science

Indexes literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. Part of the Web of Science.

Consumer Health Complete (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information. The database provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

ExamMaster

Users must register through the gateway URL from on campus to access the site. Exam Master is an online test prep resource for the Health Sciences. It covers USMLE, Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, Surgery, Pediatrics, OB/GYN, SPEX, Emergency Medicine, Pharmacy (NAPLEX), Dentistry, Physician Assistant (PANCE), and Family Nurse Practitioner. There are extensive question banks for each discipline that allow the user to take realistic practice exams.

Faculty of 1000

Faculty of 1000 is an online literature awareness service comprising thousands of selections and evaluations of the most important papers within all areas of biological and medical research. It is a post-publication peer-review service.

First Aid Collection

The original peer-to-peer study guides, First Aid titles provide medical students, residents, and physicians with an outline for success on both the boards and wards. With titles for the USMLE, NBDE,clerkships, and specialty board exams,the First Aid titles offer an excellent online way to study.

FREIDA (Fellowship & Residency Electronic Interactive Database)

FREIDA Online is a database with over 8,600 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, as well as over 200 combined specialty programs. Besides searching for specialty and subspecialty programs, you can also search for training institutions, medical schools, aggregate training statistics by specialty, and career plans of recent graduates. A new feature called “Search Plus” allows you to compare key aspects of programs side by side.

Harrison's Online

Harrison's Online features the complete contents of the latest edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. It also has daily updates that are available both on the site and through RSS feeds, weekly podcasts, grand rounds that offer CME credit, a photo gallery from the Atlas of Emergency Medicine, and a self-assessment tool with over 1,000 questions.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. The database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. This database is provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

Household Products Health & Safety Information

This database links over 8,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Categories of products include household cleaners, automotive products, personal care items, pesticides, yard and home maintenance supplies, home office supplies, products used for pet care, and materials used for hobbies and crafts.

IndexCat

This is the online version of the print Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, U.S. Army (61 volumes in 5 series). It is a valuable resource, especially for pamphlets, dissertations, and journal articles regarding the history of medicine from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals that cover the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information. Topics covered include information on biopharmaceutics & pharmacokinetics, new drug delivery systems, pharmacist liability, legal, political & ethical issues, and many others. Examples of titles covered in IPA include: America's Pharmacist (USA), American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy (USA), British Medical Journal (England), Clinical Drug Investigation (New Zealand), Clinical Pharmacokinetics (New Zealand), International Journal of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (Germany), International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding (USA), and International Journal of Pharmaceutics (Netherlands). A unique feature of abstracts included for clinical studies is the inclusion of the study design, number of patients, dosage, dosage forms, and dosage schedule.

JAMAevidence

JAMAevidence helps decision makers to identify best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. It includes the Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, education guides, calculators, audio files, critical appraisal forms, information cycle worksheets, and the text of the Rational Clinical Examination.

JBI COnNECT

JBI COnNECT is an online gateway to a collection of evidence-based resources and tools designed to assist in the clinical decision-making process and to support best practice. It is especially helpful for Nursing and Occupational Therapy students.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

JoVE publishes scientific research in a video format to help researchers overcome poor reproducibility and the time and labor-intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques. Video articles are available in the areas of Biology, Neuroscience, Medicine, Bioengineering, Engineering, Immunology & Infection, Chemistry, Behavior, Environment, and Basic Biology Science Education.

MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE through OVID is a version of the premier, comprehensive biomedical database designed for advanced users. Updated daily, MEDLINE on OvidSP offers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries. Abstracts are included in more than 75% of the records.

MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Access to full-text WVU journal subscriptions is available through the LinkOut icons.

MedlinePlus

Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine.

Merck Index Online

The Royal Society of Chemistry's Merck Index is a source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The advanced search offers a number of ways to discover chemicals using both text and properties. Researchers may also search by structure and named reactions.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

Natural Medicines

This database was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

Nutrition Reference Center

This database, designed for dietitians and nutritionists, provides resources for education, practice, and research.

OMMBID (Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Disease)

OMMBID is an online resource delivering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. Based on the world’s most respected book on the subject, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, first published in 1960, Scriver's OMMBID is an indispensable digital reference tool that provides geneticists, researchers, students, clinicians, and fellows involved with the causation and treatment of inherited diseases with cutting-edge information spanning the entire field of genetics.

OT Search

OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, and health care delivery or administration. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, just the bibliographic information to identify the material and the author's abstract when one exists. Its primary purpose is to bring the literature of occupational therapy together in one database.

OT Seeker

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of over 10,000 systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. It is designed to help occupational therapists use research evidence about occupational therapy interventions to inform their practice by quickly locating it. Research evidence relevant to occupational therapy has been retrieved from over 1,000 different journals and has been located by comprehensive searches across numerous bibliographic databases. Surveys of people using OTseeker have indicated that having research relevant to occupational therapy interventions in one resource has improved their ability to locate research evidence quickly (Bennett et al 2007). Further, most trials (published prior to July 2013) have been critically appraised for their internal validity (risk of bias) and interpretability. Information about the critical appraisal details completed for each trial is also accessible in the database.

OVID Resources

This portal provides access to the WVU journal subscriptions through OVID, a search portal for tables of contents and abstracts of ALL OVID journals, MEDLINE through OVID, the OVID Nursing Database, and Zoological Record.

Physical Education Index

Physical Education Index provides scholarly and trade literature from 1970 to the present for physical education. CSA Physical Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered

PILOTS

The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD. Although it is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, the PILOTS database is not limited to literature on PTSD among veterans.

PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and citation information for each instrument. It contains resources that span the full breadth of testing in psychological research, including neuropsychological tests, personality assessments, skills and proficiency tests, measures of addiction, IQ and aptitude scales and instruments, and more.

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of NLM's broad user community are also included. A growing number of MEDLINE citations contain a link to the free full text of the article archived in PubMed Central® or to other sites. WVU LinkOut icons will be seen on PubMed citations that WVU has either electronically (full-text) or in print.

Reference USA

Find detailed information on 14 million US businesses, 100 million households, and nearly 1 million physicians and dentists. Searchable by name, line of business, geographic location, sales, and other parameters.

SafetyLit

SafetyLit is a free service of the Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice at San Diego State University, in collaboration with the World Health Organization. It is an injury prevention literature update and archive. This database provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are anthropology, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, sociology, and other fields. The SafetyLit database contains current and backfile article abstracts from 6,285 active scholarly journals, and abstracts from the backfiles of 2,671 additional "inactive" journals. The database contains article abstracts from 3,763 journals that are not included in PubMed/MEDLINE.

Science Citation Index Expanded

Made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp. Part of the Web of Science, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals in the world.

ScienceDirect

Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.

Sport Discus Full Text

SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. International database with abstracts on sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, physical activity, and leisure literature. Related databases included in the subscription and covering the same subject area include Heracles (1975-1997) a French language database, Atlantes (1980-1996), a Spanish language database, and Catalogue du Musee Olympique, a catalog of the Olympic Museum in Switzerland.

TOXNET

TOXNET is a free search service from the National Library of Medicine that includes a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. It consists of 18 databases that can be searched individually or as a group. The databases include: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS),International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), Genetic Toxicology (GENE-TOX), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Info System (CCRIS), TOXLINE (Toxicology Bibliographic Info), Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology (DART-ETIC), Toxics Release Inventory (TRI), and ChemIDplus. In addition, the TOXNET "Search All Databases" function now includes results from the Household Products Database (http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov), Haz-Map (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov) and TOXMAP (http://toxmap.nlm.nih.gov)

UpToDate (Restricted to HSC campus only. No remote access)

UpToDate is a point-of-care tool that synthesizes knowledge for clinicians and patients. The resource covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database.

Veterinary Education in Video

Veterinary Education in Video gives faculty and students anytime, anywhere access to an encyclopedic resource on veterinary science and care. The collection explains more than 500 procedures and techniques across more than 600 titles, and covers clinical skills, explanations of conditions, and training on technology and animal handling. Because it’s delivered in high-quality streaming video, the collection provides insight into animal reactions and other subtleties that are often lost in text-only approaches.

VisualDX

VisualDX is an online clinical diagnostic support tool that features nearly 30,000 medical images and specialist-level knowledge to help diagnose, treat, and manage 1,300 diseases, drug reactions, and infections.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering contains a large biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. A representation of the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary structure, the Encyclopedia includes material to meet the needs of readers ranging from undergraduate and graduate students, and research scientists and experts. To access content, click on the "Articles by Title" or "Articles by Topic" links on the menu on the left.

chat loading...