80 Results

Public Affairs & law Databases:

19th Century Masterfile

An index to nineteenth century periodicals, newspapers and government documents, including British Parliamentary debates. Nearly every periodical of the Nineteenth Century is covered. Full-text links are available for some articles.

American Civil War Collection

Featuring more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, this fully searchable collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more. Coverage extends throughout the Civil War and well beyond into the critical postwar period.

American Factfinder

A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. It includes quick tables and demographic profiles, geographic comparison tables, detailed tables, custom tables, data sets, reference maps, and thematic maps.

American State Papers, 1789-1838

Contains legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses and extensive coverage of the major events that helped to shape the Early Republic.

Bloomberg BNA

Bloomberg BNA is a leading source of legal, tax, regulatory, and business information for professionals, delivering expert analysis, news, practice tools, and guidance across all legal practice areas.benefits, health care, privacy & data security, human resources, and environment, health & safety.

CQ Almanac

Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress from 1945-2008, providing in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year, organized by policy area. Comprehensive roll call votes for all major legislation.

CQ Supreme Court Collection

Historical analysis, updates and expert commentary on Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

Criminal Justice Database

Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Derwent Innovations Index

Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index®. This is part of Web of Science.

Digital National Security Archive

Collections of declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

Facts on File World News Digest

The Libraries' subscription to this resource will end Aug. 31, 2017. Please contact a librarian if you need help with your research.

A concise, comprehensive record of world events since 1940. Search by date or by topic to quickly access stories on significant current or historical events.

Global Issues in Context

The Libraries' subscription to this resource will end on July 31, 2017.

Perspectives on issues, including global news, primary sources and media.

Great Speeches Video Series

Now included as part of Films on Demand.

GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

HeinOnline

Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources.

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U S federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection. This online database is a collection of unique material for both genealogical hobbyists and professionals.

House and Senate Journals, Series 1, 1789-1817

Essential record of floor action from the early U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Includes matters considered on the floor, votes and other actions taken, executive department communications, and more.

Keesings World News Archive

Keesing’s publishes approximately 150 new articles each month on topics ranging from Political and Military Conflict, Human Rights, Major Legal Cases and War Crimes Trials, Peacekeeping and Conflict Resolution, Budgets and Major Economic Developments just to name a few.

LLMC-Digital

This resource provides more than 9,000 digitized historical legal publications and government documents.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications 1895-1976

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government, describing over one million items published between January 1895 and June 1976, the Monthly Catalog helps you identify important and useful information on all subjects.

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Newspaper Source (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Includes the Morgantown Dominion Post plus cover-to-cover full text for 28 national(US)and international newspapers and selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

Political Handbook of the World

Information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system, including: heads of government, heads of state, ambassadors, historical trends, regime changes, constitutional history, and regional and global policy issues of concern.

Proquest Statistical Insight

Access to statistical information produced by US Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. LNSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents and tables, down-loadable spreadsheets containing table data.

Readex - AllSearch

Easily search across the entire ReadEx historic documents collections from a single search box. These collections include American Historical Imprints (Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera, Evans, and the American Civil War Collection), American Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, House and Senate Journals, Senate Executive Journals, and U.S. Congressional Set.

Senate Executive Journals, 1791-1866

Fully searchable record of the Senate's proceedings in executive session from the years 1791-1866. Covers the confirmation of presidential nominees, the ratification of treaties, the careers of military officers, and more. Illuminates key moments in American history as they occurred and influential government decisions as they were made.

Statistical Abstract

Proquest Statistical Abstract continues the series previously published by the U.S. Census Bureau.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

The most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.

West Virginia Newspapers from Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington). Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

West Virginia State Data Center/Business and Industry Data Center

Thirty-one public agencies work together through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Bureau of the Census to facilitate use and delivery of Census and other data to the public. Data is narrowed to West Virginia geographic areas.