Social Sciences Databases:
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particularly useful for civil war and genealogical research. Includes: Godey`s Lady`s Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, 19th Century African American Newspapers, The 19th Century American County Histories to 1900, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, The Industrial Revolution in Delaware County /w Vital Statistics, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County.
Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
Primary sources including diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide access to views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home.
American Indian Histories and Cultures features a wide range of materials including:Manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books, Artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art), American Indian Newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s, Rare Printed Books,Photographs,and Maps. Scope of the Collection: Allowing for the study of American Indian history from the early colonial period to the civil rights movement of the twentieth century,American Indian Histories and Cultures provides a rich variety of material from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library. The project covers topics such as early encounters between American Indians and Europeans; American Indians and the colonial powers, and later, the US government; the indigenous peoples of Mexico; conflict, wars and military contact; the fur trade and Indian traders; education and American Indian boarding schools, and the civil rights movement and political activism.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. This unique collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
A current directory of 5,400 archives and 124,400 collections of primary source material across the US, UK and Ireland, enabling researchers to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work and find contact information for the repositories. Archive Finder includes the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)-- information gathered and indexed by the Library of Congress, covering more than 93,100 collections. It also contains names and detailed subject indexing of over 58,600 collections whose finding aids have been published separately in ProQuest UMI's microfiche series, National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS). In addition, it provides access to collection descriptions submitted from repositories and links to online finding aids.
An index of articles from the contents pages of 15,000 journals covering humanities, business, popular culture, science, social science, technology and medicine. Although full text is not included in this database, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
Provides access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field of sociology.
The Libraries' subscription to Book Review Digest Plus ended on July 1, 2017. Book reviews can be found on Project Muse, JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, Magill, and MLA International Bibliography.
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. The database includes children's books as well as books for adults and young adults.
Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.
Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals.'
Primary source documents for research into the American Civil War - provides access to more than 150 newspapers, 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. Extensive local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society during this tumultuous period.
Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media. This database was created by merging CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources
Indexes literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. Part of the Web of Science.
In-depth reports on public policy issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings (including Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation)the CQ Public Affairs Collection is useful for researchers and students of public affairs and public policy, social work, government, political science, journalism, and communications.
In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.
Legislative news and analysis from CQ Press, includes current information plus the full text of all articles published since 1983.
The Libraries' subscription to this resource ended on July 1, 2017. Please try searching the Criminal Justice Database or contact a librarian for assistance with your research.
Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Discover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation. This is part of Web of Science.
37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft.
Full image reproductions of early English texts, from Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (STC I) and Wing’s Short-title Catalogue (STCII). In addition to early copies of literary works, the collection includes historical materials such as royal statutes and proclamations, almanacs, broadsides and works on religion and science. Primary documents provide information for the study of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts , education, mathematics and science.
A collection of e-books covering a wide variety of subjects-- arts, humanities, business, education, computers, science, social science, and technology. The collection includes recent books from more than 180 publishers and many titles from public domain sources.
All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines. Databases included are described on the database selection page. Many include links to full text of the articles indexed.
Indexing for journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Contains more than 362,000 citations. Includes selected abstracts from 1984 to 1989 and abstracts to all articles from 1989 to the present. Although full text is not included in this database, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
The Libraries' subscription to this resource ended on July 1, 2017. Please contact a librarian if you need assistance with your research.
eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on archaeological traditions of the world and is is unique because each archaeological tradition contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive tradition and subject classification systems: the Outline of Archaeological Traditions (OAT), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). These retrieval systems extend search capability well beyond keyword searching thus allowing for precise tradition and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language.
The eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world-- unique because each culture contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive culture and subject classification systems: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). These retrieval systems extend search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As a multicultural database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity.
138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, digitized and fully searchable. ECCO includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Original documents, primary source material, essays, and biographical information related to empire studies, with an emphasis on the British Empire.
Offers coverage of academic and popular film journals. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects).
A collection of online databases, providing coverage of much of the journal literature for academic disciplines. Databases included are described on the database selection page. Although full text is not included in databases from FirstSearch, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.
Foundation Directory Online Professional offers detailed information on grant-making private foundations and public charities, as well as the grants they make.
Gender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the presen
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, providing historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.
A record of US government documents published since 1976, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
The handbook spans the entire field of child psychology including topics such as spirituality, social understanding, and non-verbal communication. v.1 Theoretical Models of Human Development, v.2 Cognition Perception and Language, v.3 Social, Emotional, and Personality Development, v.4 Child Psychology in Practice.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information sciences. It assists researchers, practitioners, students and others in identifying measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, and other uses.
Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history. Subject coverage is from 1450 to the present and includes Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and Middle East. See America: History and Life for coverage of North America (U.S. and Canada).
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data which can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses - set up MyData account to begin. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account which must be done from an on-campus computer. Once the account is created, access is from anywhere. The account remains active for 6 months, after which time it must be reactivated from an on-campus computer.
Journal impact factors and citation data for scholarly and technical journals. Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.
Topics related to the Middle Ages - primarily focused on Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa - includes journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters. This resource is not full text, but items listed here may be available in the WVU Libraries through other sources.
Scholarship related to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), including citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies). Includes more than 842,000 records. Updated daily and with thousands of new records added annually, this research tool is useful to scholars of the Middle Ages and / or Renaissance (400-1700).
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.
Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.
JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. The entire archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Materials on libraries and information science. It includes records from 1980 to the present for selected library journals, books (more than 600 a year), conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews.
LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages
Covers all types of US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Also called GPO Monthly Catalog or Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,017 biographies, 105,786 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 400,972 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska.
A complete archive of National Geographic magazine, every page of every issue, along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Standard work in economics, containing essays by eminent contributors from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools.
Statistics from the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, including key tables, searchable data sets, and fact books.
The Libraries' subscription to this resource ended on July 31, 2017. Please contact a librarian if you need assistance with your research.
Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books.
A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Conference papers, including all published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting papers received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Covers a wide variety of subjects discussed at the covered meetings
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Although full text is not included in this database, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
COS Pivot is a frequently updated database of funding opportunity announcements in all disciplines including physical sciences, social sciences, life sciences, health and medicine, and arts & humanities. It contains information on awards, fellowships, and grants from federal/non-federal and corporate/private foundations, as well as international funding sources. Pivot combines the most comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion with our unique database of 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. If you create an account, you are required to use your WVU or UHA email account. Pivot is made available with funding from the Office of Sponsored Programs at WVU.
The Plant Management Network is a nonprofit publisher of peer-reviewed, applied journals; pest management efficacy reports, proceedings, webcasts, images, and other information that supports the land-grant missions of teaching, research, and extension. The resources cover various agricultural and horticultural disciplines related to plant protection, crop management, forage and rangeland management, and turfgrass management. These disciplines include agronomy, plant disease, animal nutrition, weed science, entomology, nematology, and many others.
Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.
compilation of 14,000+ public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the nearly 350,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given. Also included in each record is the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview, such as parents with children in public schools, Great Britain, the United States, or California. All the surveys reported here were conducted using scientifically selected random samples.
POPLINE is the world's largest bibliographic reproductive health database. POPLINE provides citations with abstracts of the worldwide literature in the fields of population, family planning, and related health issues. Subjects represented include family planning, human fertility, population law and policy, demography, sexually transmitted diseases, and maternal and child health. POPLINE's 300,000 records represent:Books and book chapters, Technical reports, Journal articles, Papers presented at conferences, Newspaper articles, Theses and dissertations, Limited-distribution unpublished reports, Laws, bills and court decisions, and Training manuals.
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to
Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Full digital images of the New York Times, 1851-1999, and the Wall Street Journal, 1889-1985.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers includes 9 newspapers and offers primary source material for the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Newspapers included are: Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post.
Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 34,000 searchable full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 51 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1987 to the present.
Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks.
Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
PsycTHERAPY is a database of ~ 300 streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. Its search and personal playlist capabilities make it a good resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the standard index to articles in magazines, covering from 1890 to 1982.
Only three users at one time. Current IT, business and desk reference eBooks, including guides to application software, and programming.
Electronic journal collection covering criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence. Some of the journals have content back 23 years.
A collection of authoritative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice.
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
ProQuest's Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
Springer eBooks includes more than 23,000 eBook titles, divided into twelve subject collections: behavioral science; computer science; biomedical and life sciences; engineering; medicine; mathematics and statistics; humanities, social sciences and law; physics and astronomy; business and economics; earth and environmental science; chemistry and materials science; professional and applied computing; and architecture and design.
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform - categorized into 21 market sectors, providing direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets
A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.
Historic reports, documents and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Digitization is on-going. When complete, coverage will extend through 1980.
Provides indexing for current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals from around the world.
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Use Find it @ WVU to connect to full text articles.