Ask A Librarian

Databases

14 Results

Art Databases:

Subject Guide

Art Abstracts

Art Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for 378 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database covers a broad range of art topics such as advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history. Coverage for this database spans from 1984 to the present. Examples of publications indexed in Art Abstracts include: American Art, American Artist, Archaeology, Ceramics Monthly, Creative Review, Entertainment Design, Journal of Popular Film and Television, etc. Covers publications in many languages. Subject areas include art history, interior design, performance art, textiles, photography, graphics, architecture, and folk art.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the humanities, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals. These include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Baumeister, Byggekunst, Domus, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Environment and Planning A, Metropolitan Museum Journal,and Revue de l'Art.

Bibliography of the History of Art

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.

Grove Art Online

Grove Art Online provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (Grove, 1996, 34 vols.) with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text. Covers both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewelry, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more). Also includes 30,000+ links to color images from and other art sites, and 100,000+ images from the Bridgeman Art Library, as well as biographies of artists of all types (architects, patrons, collectors, dealers theorists, writers, and scholars).

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is the innovative new gateway for searching Grove Art Online and other art resources from Oxford.

chat loading...