Ask A Librarian

Databases

35 Results

Biology Databases:

Subject Guide

Start Here:

BioOne

The full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Focus is on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

A science and technology encyclopedia containing articles written by the leading figures in their fields, including 30 Nobel Prize winners, and edited and illustrated with the non-specialist in mind. Find late breaking news, biographies of famous scientists, and much more including thousands of illustrations.

Agricola

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Although AGRICOLA does not contain the materials, thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to online full-text documents, with new links being added every day.

Agricola (Ebscohost)

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials. Together they provide worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. In addition, AGRICOLA contains subfiles of related bibliographic citations that have been prepared by sources other than the National Agricultural Library, for example, the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) and the American Agricultural Economics Documentation Center (AAEDC). These and other information centers and cooperators contribute subfiles to AGRICOLA covering special subjects. Pre-1979 AGRICOLA records are derived from the CAIN format; from 1979 on, MARC-formatted records are used to create the database.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (formerly Ecology Abstracts)

Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Offers thousands of citations and abstracts from the world's research in aquatic sciences. An international network of information centers monitor serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature for content.

Biological Abstracts - See Biosis Previews

Find high-impact articles from peer-reviewed, influential journals in the biosciences.

BioOne

The full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Focus is on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

BioOne Abstracts and Index

A more sophisticated search engine for articles in BioOne, an aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

Biopolymers Online

Biopolymers Online provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science. Covers the whole field of biopolymers from an application-oriented and biotechnological point of view and is comprised of approximately 180 articles with over 1500 figures and 600 tables Lists approximately 500 biopolymers and more than 3000 organisms related to the production of biopolymers. Also includes extensive patent information.

BIOSIS Previews

Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more in high-impact articles from peer-reviewed, influential journals.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science

Indexes literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. Part of the Web of Science.

Ecology Abstracts (Agricultural & Environmental Science Database)

Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Entomology Abstracts

Indexes bibliographic information and abstracts for research reports coverning insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods.

Faculty of 1000

Faculty of 1000 is an online literature awareness service comprising thousands of selections and evaluations of the most important papers within all areas of biological and medical research. It is a post-publication peer-review service.

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is a database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. The database includes material from over 4,600 serial publications, covering all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Coverage spans from 1969 - present. The database includes more than 900,000 records, with more than 40,000 records added annually.

GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

JoVE publishes scientific research in a video format to help researchers overcome poor reproducibility and the time and labor-intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques. Video articles are available in the areas of Biology, Neuroscience, Medicine, Bioengineering, Engineering, Immunology & Infection, Chemistry, Behavior, Environment, and Basic Biology Science Education.

JSTOR Global Plants

Contains plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. It supports research and teaching, including measuring and recording plant specimens, sharing observations and objects with colleagues and classmates, and investigating global plant biodiversity. Of interest to those studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.

Oceanic Abstracts

Indexing focused on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, with emphasis on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

OVID Resources

This portal provides access to the WVU journal subscriptions through OVID, a search portal for tables of contents and abstracts of ALL OVID journals, MEDLINE through OVID, the OVID Nursing Database, and Zoological Record.

Science Citation Index Expanded

Made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp. Part of the Web of Science, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals in the world.

ScienceDirect

Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.

SciTech Connect

Access to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.

Veterinary Education in Video

Veterinary Education in Video gives faculty and students anytime, anywhere access to an encyclopedic resource on veterinary science and care. The collection explains more than 500 procedures and techniques across more than 600 titles, and covers clinical skills, explanations of conditions, and training on technology and animal handling. Because it’s delivered in high-quality streaming video, the collection provides insight into animal reactions and other subtleties that are often lost in text-only approaches.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is an index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. It contains over 589,840 bibliographic records, including many with abstracts. The databases in this collection offer a global perspective covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Approximately 18,000 records are added per year. The geographic identifiers include global and broad regional levels as well as specific localities. One can search by species in a province, state, county, or even a community, park, lake, or stream.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering contains a large biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. A representation of the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary structure, the Encyclopedia includes material to meet the needs of readers ranging from undergraduate and graduate students, and research scientists and experts. To access content, click on the "Articles by Title" or "Articles by Topic" links on the menu on the left.

chat loading...